I start Progesterone In Oil tonight!!

Does this face sum it up???

I am a litle freaked out about taking an intramuscular injection since during my IVF cycle I only had sub-q shots…I have to take PIO because I am taking estrace vaginally 2x a day and you cannot use progesterone suppositories and vaginal estrace at the same time…Please wish me luck!!!  I went out and bought a heating pad since I was given some advice to hopefully make it not as painful as I am thinking it will be.

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ivfmale
    Sep 05, 2012 @ 08:16:51

    The wife says they aren’t bad. Just push the plunger in slow. Hard not too since the oil is thick. It’s a big scary needle, but it’s sharp and you’ll hardly feel it.

    Reply

  2. hopefulandhungry
    Sep 05, 2012 @ 09:21:00

    A friend of mine said she would take a hot shower and that her husband would warm the PIO under hot water before injecting. Good luck!

    Reply

  3. jessielou2000
    Sep 05, 2012 @ 10:19:55

    Oh goodness I pray that it’s not to bad, before long i have to start taking it too. i hope the heating pad or something helps if it is.

    Reply

  4. sams
    Sep 05, 2012 @ 11:04:29

    Good luck! I’ll be waiting for you to post how it goes with the PIO…I start it in a few days myself. I’m a bit anxious about it too!

    Reply

  5. KelBel
    Sep 05, 2012 @ 11:43:07

    I started mine on Saturday night and they are not as bad as I had imagined. I use a heating pad for about 5-10 minutes before the shot and about 10 minutes afterwards. Just after the injection I have hubby “massage” the area so I don’t get a knot in the muscle. GOOD LUCK!

    Reply

  6. MrsTypeA
    Sep 05, 2012 @ 11:53:34

    hi! they’re not as bad as the needle looks! i use ice before and heating pad after. make sure to stick the needle in straight (no angles!) because otherwise you could get lumps that are itchy and painful (learned the hard way!). definitely massage the area for a few minutes after to spread the progesterone too. it’s easy when you have someone do the shots, i haven’t done it to myself yet 😦 good luck!!

    Reply

  7. Leighann
    Sep 05, 2012 @ 11:57:26

    They aren’t so bad. Like others have said- heat and massaging are key. Good luck!

    Reply

  8. trufflelove
    Sep 05, 2012 @ 12:49:15

    totally ice it for a good 15 minutes before you inject! 🙂 good luck!

    Reply

  9. B. just cycling along
    Sep 05, 2012 @ 16:54:56

    I have not started mine yet, but the nurse at the training also suggested running it under hot water and to have your partner massage the area afterwards to avoid build up. Supposedly it is when it builsa up that it hurts. Good luck! You can do it!

    Reply

  10. bustababy
    Sep 05, 2012 @ 16:55:45

    I was so scared the first time I had to do the PIO but It was not that bad at all 🙂 Goodluck and let me know how it goes !!

    Reply

  11. bustababy
    Sep 05, 2012 @ 16:56:46

    BTW did you read my response to the psychic post ? Small world

    Reply

  12. gradualchanges
    Sep 05, 2012 @ 17:51:32

    The PIO shots are not that bad… at least not until you’ve been doing them for weeks in the same spots. 😉 I skip the ice and just warm the full syringe on a heating pad for a few minutes. It helps to thin the oil and make it easier to disperse. I like the shots done quickly, too slow hurts. I prefer to just get it over with. Also I think that massaging the area or doing some light movement with those muscles helps too. This has been my practice and I haven’t gotten any welts in any of my previous cycles. One last thing… make sure that you use separate needles for drawing up the oil and for the injection. I once saw a person who had issues and it was discovered that she was drawing up the oil and injecting with the same needle.

    Reply

  13. kaybee
    Sep 05, 2012 @ 23:39:05

    I agree, the needle looks scary as hell. Dont panic, it’s not bad at all. I never did ice or lodacaine or any of that, but my office reccomended using one needle to draw the oil and another tip for the actual injection. I didnt change it once and it hurt like hell. I’d strongly reccomend changing the needle because it gets dull after puncturing the vial.

    Sending good vibes your way!

    Reply

  14. gardengirl29
    Sep 06, 2012 @ 00:50:20

    Ouch! Good luck, and I hope you’ll be able to exit this merry-go-round soon!

    Reply

  15. Faith
    Oct 07, 2012 @ 13:59:19

    Do you know why you cannot use progesterone suppositories and vaginal estrace at the same time? I am supposed to start PIO and P4 cream today.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

In Quest of a Binky Moongee

The Journey of Making a Baby Despite the Diagnosis of Diminished Ovarian Reserve

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

From Portlandia to Walla-Where?

Creativity From Every Corner of the Northwest.

Happy Family Blog

Celebrating Everyday

Honeyblife

A healthy lifestyle made simple.

Hello My Name Is TUBELESS

a girl without fallopian tubes had a baby!

jonsie13

living in the middle | navigating infertility

gracefullyjason

the random ramblings of a stay-at-home-mom

Journey For My Baby

Mommy After Infertility

Ditch the Bun

Not your average Librarian

A Lot of Things

A little bit about a lot of things.

A Storybook Life

Because all stories are better with a few twists and turns.

Every Little Thing's Gonna Be Alright

A blog about managing PCOS, motherhood, and marriage.

hopefulandhungry

The road to conceiving a baby....enjoying food and life along the way

Project Progeny

parenting after infertility: the blog formerly known as "The I Word"

Soulfood

Food & inspiration

The Dancing Egg

An IVF Story for the Over 40 Crowd

ourlastembryo's Blog

Endometriosis & Infertility. The road to overcoming invisible illnesses

The Natural Verve

Simple enthusiasm for life's obsessions!

