PIO Side Effects are a BITCH!!!

Well yesterday I experienced some pretty bad side effects from the PIO…I was at work and I started to feel nauseous…I hadnt eaten so that may have caused it but by that point it was too late…I left work early and came home…I was eating saltines to hopefully absorb the bile…I started to get flu like symptoms…I was feeling super hot and body aches…I was in bed in front of my AC sweating and feeling shitty…I slept for about 3 hrs and was still feeling horrible…I took a hot shower to help with the aches which it did…I stomach started to finally feel better so I had some noodles…I was still feeling achey so I took another shower and went to bed…I feel 100% better today but just a warning that if you are taking PIO you may experience side effects

And I expereinced these side effects all in one day!!!

Flu-like Symptoms

You may experience flu-like symptoms while you are receiving treatment with progesterone. These flu-like side effects may include headache, sweating or hot flashes, joint pain, cough, dizziness or upset stomach, Drugs.com warns. If you develop a fever or chills, contact your medical provider for further evaluation.

These are some other side effects that you may experience:

Pain/swelling at injection site, breast tenderness, headache, weight gain/loss, acne, nausea, increased body/facial hair, loss of scalp hair, drowsiness, or dizziness may occur. If any of these effects persist or worsen, tell your doctor or pharmacist promptly.

Tell your doctor right away if you have any serious side effects, including: unusual vaginal bleeding/discharge (e.g., breakthrough bleeding, spotting), stopped menstrual periods (amenorrhea), breast lumps, swelling of the ankles/feet, mental/mood changes (e.g., depression, nervousness), dark patches on the skin/face, frequent/painful urination, dark urine, yellowing eyes/skin, stomach/abdominal pain, persistent nausea/vomiting.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sams
    Sep 08, 2012 @ 10:25:57

    Yikes! I’ll definitely be watching for these side effects as I start my PIO.

    Reply

  2. ivfmale
    Sep 08, 2012 @ 12:03:18

    It really sucks after the transfer and the nauseous feeling gets your hopes up before you remember it’s just a PIO side effect.

    Reply

  3. Amanda
    Sep 08, 2012 @ 13:40:18

    Sorry you are not feeling good. Stinks!

    Reply

  4. trufflelove
    Sep 08, 2012 @ 17:51:38

    I hope your side effects subside soon….

    Reply

  5. gingerandlime
    Sep 08, 2012 @ 19:25:33

    I hope you feel better soon! I have never done an IM shot — you are a brave lady!

    Reply

  6. B. just cycling along
    Sep 08, 2012 @ 21:37:01

    Ugh! Sorry for the bad side effects, but glad you are feeling better.

    Reply

  7. Leighann
    Sep 09, 2012 @ 16:28:44

    I hope you feel better soon!

    Reply

  8. expecting to be expecting
    Sep 09, 2012 @ 19:40:18

    Wow, I didn’t realize the side effects could be that intense with pio. I took suppositories.

    I hope that doesn’t happen again!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

In Quest of a Binky Moongee

The Journey of Making a Baby Despite the Diagnosis of Diminished Ovarian Reserve

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

From Portlandia to Walla-Where?

Creativity From Every Corner of the Northwest.

Happy Family Blog

Celebrating Everyday

Honeyblife

A healthy lifestyle made simple.

Hello My Name Is TUBELESS

a girl without fallopian tubes had a baby!

jonsie13

living in the middle | navigating infertility

gracefullyjason

the random ramblings of a stay-at-home-mom

Journey For My Baby

Mommy After Infertility

Ditch the Bun

Not your average Librarian

A Lot of Things

A little bit about a lot of things.

A Storybook Life

Because all stories are better with a few twists and turns.

Every Little Thing's Gonna Be Alright

A blog about managing PCOS, motherhood, and marriage.

hopefulandhungry

The road to conceiving a baby....enjoying food and life along the way

Project Progeny

parenting after infertility: the blog formerly known as "The I Word"

Soulfood

Food & inspiration

The Dancing Egg

An IVF Story for the Over 40 Crowd

ourlastembryo's Blog

Endometriosis & Infertility. The road to overcoming invisible illnesses

The Natural Verve

Simple enthusiasm for life's obsessions!

