My Progesterone is Low…

So after the sono and bloodwork I was told I wouldnt get a call but lucky me I did…I knew it wasnt good news…I was told that my hcg and e2 levels were good but my progesterone levels are low so they are putting me back on PIO…I asked what my levels were and they went from 14.8 to 4.2…I got freaked out since I thought the suppositories would do the trick but I guess my body wasnt absorbing them like I should…I started googling and that is always a bad thing!!!ย  I need to stop doing that…you hear horror stories…I take it all with perspective since you can have a miscarriage at any point so I am not going to stress about it too much…I know the PIO will do the trick and from what I read as long as I am not cramping or bleeding everything is still on track…I have also read that when you’re not using PIO, you can’t accurately check your progesterone levels… Suppositories do NOT go into your bloodย  stream but rather more directly to the area it’s closest to, therefore, you don’t get an accurate level of how much progesterone you’re really getting…so we shall see if this all works out but I do have faith it will!!!

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tchrgrl05
    Oct 02, 2012 @ 07:53:12

    My levels dropped like that too at the beginning even though I was on suppositories 3x a day. I was put on oral supplements and my levels shot up and everything has been fine since. My dr said the same thing about not being able to accurately check levels through blood work. Apparently. Lot of the progesterone serum can be produced in your body but not measured. Stay positive! I think you’re situation is pretty common. You’re in my thoughts ๐Ÿ™‚ glad I found/followed you from ICLW!

    Reply

  2. Weaslewam
    Oct 02, 2012 @ 09:38:15

    Step away from Dr. Google. It’s not going to help your mentality. I need to remind myself of this ALL THE TIME. I hope that it really doesn’t mean anything bad and the docs can figure out a way to correct it for you.

    Reply

  3. ivfmale
    Oct 02, 2012 @ 10:02:14

    Crap!!! Good they caught it and are able to correct the situation. Sending happy thoughts your way.

    Reply

  4. Leighann
    Oct 02, 2012 @ 11:52:03

    Sorry you have to go back on PIO but it’s a good thing they caught it. And your body will take over pretty soon so you’ll probably only have a few weeks of it right?

    Reply

  5. newlymrsbrooks
    Oct 02, 2012 @ 12:18:23

    Good Luck! Wishing you the best. I’m still clueless about this whole process since I’m still in the beginning stages. What is PIO and what is it supposed to do?

    Reply

  6. roribeat
    Oct 02, 2012 @ 12:56:16

    Hope you’ll be on the right level soon!

    Reply

  7. Theresa
    Oct 02, 2012 @ 13:13:33

    I’ve heard the same thing about the suppositories – that it can’t be measured accurately in your blood. Which could mean that your level was really just fine. What a mind game!

    Reply

    • infertilitydoessuck
      Oct 02, 2012 @ 15:05:44

      It’s crazy but I know that at least I have no bleeding or cramping which is good… I think everything will work out with the PIO and the Sono looked great… Thinking positively that this bean wants me to be his or her mommy!!!

      Reply

  8. sams
    Oct 02, 2012 @ 21:33:41

    Praying for you that the PIO will do the trick! I’m stil taking it right now myself for my 2WW. I’m so sore and bruised…and lumpy! But hopefully, it will be worth it! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

  9. impairedfertility
    Oct 03, 2012 @ 14:35:56

    Good for you for not stressing! My fingers are crossed for a positive outcome!

    Reply

  10. sass
    Oct 03, 2012 @ 15:46:52

    I’m sorry that you’re having to go through this. It must be so stressful!

    I’m not certain, but I think you’re right about the progesterone levels not being very accurate with the suppositories. They never even did blookwork on my after my betas, so I have no idea what my progesterone levels were. I did worry about it anyway, of course ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

    • infertilitydoessuck
      Oct 03, 2012 @ 20:18:55

      It’s not as bad as I thought… I was stressed for a little but I kept telling myself that I am not cramping and bleeding so that’s good plus my p4 was 4.2 when they saw the baby doing well

      Reply

  11. gardengirl29
    Oct 04, 2012 @ 00:05:38

    I’m glad they were monitoring you! My aunt had the same problem, and the progesterone did the trick for both of her kids. Thanks for the updates- your posts give me hope! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

In Quest of a Binky Moongee

The Journey of Making a Baby Despite the Diagnosis of Diminished Ovarian Reserve

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

From Portlandia to Walla-Where?

Creativity From Every Corner of the Northwest.

Happy Family Blog

Celebrating Everyday

Honeyblife

A healthy lifestyle made simple.

Hello My Name Is TUBELESS

a girl without fallopian tubes had a baby!

jonsie13

living in the middle | navigating infertility

gracefullyjason

the random ramblings of a stay-at-home-mom

Journey For My Baby

Mommy After Infertility

Ditch the Bun

Not your average Librarian

A Lot of Things

A little bit about a lot of things.

A Storybook Life

Because all stories are better with a few twists and turns.

Every Little Thing's Gonna Be Alright

A blog about managing PCOS, motherhood, and marriage.

hopefulandhungry

The road to conceiving a baby....enjoying food and life along the way

Project Progeny

parenting after infertility: the blog formerly known as "The I Word"

Soulfood

Food & inspiration

The Dancing Egg

An IVF Story for the Over 40 Crowd

ourlastembryo's Blog

Endometriosis & Infertility. The road to overcoming invisible illnesses

The Natural Verve

Simple enthusiasm for life's obsessions!

