I stopped Estrogen!!!

So I got the call to stop the estrogen yesterday…I was originally supposed to stop on Friday but I guess my levels were good enough that it wasnt necessary to continue…I am also supposed to stop the PIO in 16 days, 11/2, which will make me 10 weeks 2 days…I am kinda nervous about stopping cold turkey but my dr. said by that time the placenta will have taken over producing the hormones so it wont be necessary…I know I may sound crazy but to stop taking the shots is worrisome…At one point my progesterone was low at 4.2 and they had me start the PIO…my levels are normal now but what happens if they drop significantly and since I am not seeing a dr. every week this could be an issue…I may talk to my OB about it since I dont want to stop if there could be a potential problem…I know some women go until they are 12 weeks and others stop between 8-10…lets see what he says…

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tchrgrl05
    Oct 18, 2012 @ 08:16:36

    I was also very, very nervous to stop the progesterone. My levels dropped in early pregnancy and I was put on EVEN MORE supplements! I actually “weaned” myself off…from 3 suppositories and 2 pills a day slowly to one suppository a day even though my dr said to stop cold turkey. Everything was fine, though. If your dr tells you not to worry, don’t worry. It’s hard to trust our bodies to work correctly!

    Reply

  2. sams
    Oct 18, 2012 @ 09:46:41

    Hooray for reaching this milestone! That’s fantastic news! And I agree, it’s definitely a good idea to discuss your PIO concerns with your RE.

    Reply

  3. expecting to be expecting
    Oct 19, 2012 @ 09:57:13

    It’s an exciting milestone, and nerve wracking at the same time!

    Reply

Leave a comment

She Picks Up Pennies

Living a More Purposeful Life One Cent at a Time

In Quest of a Binky Moongee

The Journey of Making a Baby Despite the Diagnosis of Diminished Ovarian Reserve

From Portlandia to Walla-Where?

Creativity From Every Corner of the Northwest.

Honeyblife

A healthy lifestyle made simple.

Hello My Name Is TUBELESS

a girl without fallopian tubes had a baby!

gracefullyjason

the random ramblings of a stay-at-home-mom

jonsie13

living in the middle | navigating infertility

Journey For My Baby

Mommy After Infertility

Ditch the Bun

Not your average Librarian

A Lot of Things

A little bit about a lot of things.

A Storybook Life

Because all stories are better with a few twists and turns.

Every Little Thing's Gonna Be Alright

A blog about managing PCOS, motherhood, and marriage.

hopefulandhungry

The road to conceiving a baby....enjoying food and life along the way

Movable Type

Rewriting

Soulfood

Food & inspiration

The Dancing Egg

An IVF Story for the Over 40 Crowd

ourlastembryo's Blog

Endometriosis & Infertility. The road to overcoming invisible illnesses

The Natural Verve

Simple enthusiasm for life's obsessions!